snap shots of previous awardees
Winnipeg-based design firm 5468796 received the Spotlight Award in 2014.

Since 2009, Rice Design Alliance supports and recognizes the work of exceptionally gifted national and international architects in the early stages of their professional career through the Spotlight Award. 

The Spotlight Award was founded in 2009 under the leadership of Loonie Hoogeboom with John J. Casbarian, Carlos Jiménez, and Rafael Longoria.

Every year, the Spotlight Award committee, formed by architects, academics, and design practitioners, convenes to consider local, national, and international architects within the first 15 years of their professional practice who have demonstrated design excellence and curiosity through their body of work. The Spotlight Award is by invitation only.

The award, which carries a monetary prize, also invites the selected architect/s to give the annual Spotlight Lecture at the Rice School of Architecture.

Over the years, the Spotlight Award has built a reputation for identifying quality and thoughtfulness in design and has been the first to identify the work of architects who have gone on to receive major international recognition.

Past Spotlight Award recipients include Antón García-Abril, Ensamble Studio (2009); Sou Foujimoto (2010); Grace La and James Dallman, LA DALLMAN (2011); Pezo von Ellrichshausen (2012); Georgeen Theodore, Interboro Partners (2013); 5468796 (2014); Tarik Oualalou and Linna Choi, Oualalou+ Choi (2015); Cadaval & Solá-Morales (2016); and Anssi Lassila, OOPEAA (2017).

Two men is a field


Cade Hayes and Jesús E. Robles, Jr.

DUST is an architectural practice based out of Tucson, AZ, founded by principals Cade Hayes and Jesús E. Robles. Drawing inspiration from the desert and mountains that surround them, the firm has captured attention for their great sensitivity to material and context.