New Officers, Board Directors Introduced at Reception

New board members introduced at 2015 Annual Meeting.
April 15, 2015

About 200 members of the Rice Design Alliance gathered for the 2015 Annual Membership Meeting and Reception on Wednesday, June 10, at Kirksey-designed LEED Platinum Certified 3009 Post Oak Boulevard in Uptown Houston to elect new directors to the board and introduce officers for 2015-2016. The meeting and reception was hosted by alliantgroup, whose offices at 3009 Post Oak were designed by Ziegler Cooper. During the event, Dhaval Jadav, CEO of alliantgroup, introduced the company and Bob Inaba, Executive Vice President of Kirksey, discussed the building’s architecture.

After a reception, outgoing RDA President Carrie Glassman Shoemake recognized three corporate members who have supported RDA for 25 years: AGC Houston; Debner+Company; and Windham Builders. Shoemake then recognized Morris Architects for 30 years of corporate support. Chris Hudson accepted the award on behalf of Morris.

William Ward Watkin Professor and Dean of the Rice School of Architecture, Sarah Whiting, addressed the crowd before Past President Doug Combes recognized the new directors on the board. They include:

Jack Bellows, Project Manager, W. S. Bellows
Andrew Colopy, Assistant Professor, Rice School of Architecture
Tom Flaherty, President, Tom Flaherty Consulting
Bill Fulton, Director, Kinder Institute for Urban Research, Rice University
David Harvey, Jr., Chief Executive Officer, D. E. Harvey Builders
Jim Hennessey, Project Executive, ExxonMobil Global Services Company, Houston Campus
Larry Lander, Principal, Planning Design Research Corporation
Amy Moen, Director of Business Development, FKP Architects

Directors returning for a second three-year term include:

Kristi M. Grizzle, Senior Associate, Walter P Moore
Willard Holmes, Chief Operating Officer, The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
Dave Mueller, Regional Director of Practice Development, Perkins+Will
Carrie Glassman Shoemake, President, Glassman Shoemake Maldonado Architects
Combes also recognized the service of those directors rotating off the board: Larry Barker, Jereck Boss, David Calkins, Catherine Callaway, Doug Combes, Andrea Crawmer, and Julié Gauthier.

Shoemake then introduced the officers for 2015-2016:

President, Larry Burns, Principal, Kendall/Heaton Architects
President-Elect, Chris Hudson, President and CEO, Morris Architects Inc.
Vice President, Wendy Heger, Senior Associate, Page
Secretary: Steve Mechler, President, Balfour Beatty Construction
Treasurer: Tom Flaherty, President, Tom Flaherty Construction
Tours of four of the building’s interior spaces concluded the evening. The event was hosted by alliantgroup; CBRE; Cardno Haynes Whaley; Chamberlin Roofing & Waterproofing; Camarata Masonry Systems, LTD; Kirksey; MLN Company; The Office of James Burnett; Post Oak Building, LLC; Skanska; Walter P Moore; Wylie Consulting Engineers; and Ziegler Cooper Architects.