Design the Prize!

The Rice Design Alliance invites Houston-area architecture students and young design professionals to design and fabricate the prize we will award to SPOTLIGHT winners for the next five years. Students at the Rice School of Architecture, the Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture at the University of Houston, the School of Architecture at Prairie View A&M University, and design professionals residing in the Houston area who graduated from an accredited program since 2000 can submit digital conceptual drawings and descriptions of their three-dimensional object now through March 17.

The competition will occur in two phases: design and production. Evaluated by a seven-member competition jury, these phases will proceed according to the following schedule:

Deadline: March 17
Announcement of semi-finalists: April 4
Deadline for semi-finalists to submit prototype: May 19
Announcement of winner: May 30
Deadline for winner to complete and deliver first award: August 8

The remaining four awards must then be delivered to RDA in Anderson Hall at Rice University by January 31, 2015.

Click here to download the entry form!

Click here to download the complete contest rules, deadlines, and specifications.

The annual RDA SPOTLIGHT Prize, now in its 6th year, recognizes firms in their first 15 years of professional practice that demonstrate design excellence and promise a great design future. Past winners are Interboro Partners (2013); Pezo von Ellrichshausen (2012); LA DALLMAN (2011); Sou Fujimoto (2010); and Antón García-Abril (2009).

This year’s competition jury includes John Casbarian, Rice School of Architecture Professor and Principal, TAFT Architects; Lonnie Hoogeboom, AIA, RDA Past President and Director of Planning and Design. Central Houston, Inc.; Carlos Jiménez, Rice School of Architecture Professor and Principal, Carlos Jiménez Studio; Rafael Longoria, Professor of Architecture at the University of Houston; Camilo Parra, RDA Program Committee Chair and Principal, Parra Design Group; Joe Meppelink, Director of Applied Research at the University of Houston, Partner, Janusz Design and Principal, Metalab; and Deborah Brochstein, RDA Board Member and President and CEO, Brochsteins Inc.

Be Sociable, Share!